J.S. Bach: Harpsichord Concerto No.1 in D minor (BWV 1052) (two-piano reduction)

Libro | Dos Pianos

Editorial: Bärenreiter
Compositor: Johann Sebastian Bach
Formato: Partituras | Álbum Instrumental

In early 1729 Bach became director of the so-called »Scottish Collegium Musician« a music organization of students and local citizens. The remarkable results of this undertaking are the concertos for harpsichord. Today it is almost certain that practically all of these concertos were transcribed from concertos for melody instruments (mostly violin or oboe).

The D-minor Concerto, BWV 1052, forms the opening item in Bach’s autograph score of his six harpsichord concertos, BWV 1051 to BWV 1057 (Berlin Staatsbibliothek, Mus. ms. Bach P 234). Bach scholars are unanimously in agreement that the piece was transcribed from a violin concerto in the same key. The original concerto, although no longer extant today, can be reconstructed with some degree of certainty from its various transcriptions.

  • Urtext of the New Bach Edition
  • Full score & parts (BA5224), two-keyboard reduction (BA5224-90) and study score (TP410) format 22.5 x 16.5cm (all 6 concertos) available for sale
  • ISBN: 9790006505456
    Skill Level: Avanzado Explain this
    Publicado el: 22 diciembre 1999
    Idioma: Inglés
    Nº de catálogo: BA5224A