Philip Glass: Concerto Fantasy For Two Timpanists And Orchestra

Libro | Timpani, Orquesta

Compositor: Philip Glass
Formato: Partituras | Partitura
Philip Glass was approached by timpanist Jonathan Haas to write a timpani concerto for himself nearly ten years before Glass was finally able to get down to it. The timpani concerto ‘grew up’ into a double concerto for two timpanists and nine timpani in total, in three movements with a pair of cadenzas which are usually added onto the third movement. As is often the case with Glass’s music, this is a propulsive, noisy piece with some unusual performance instructions, e.g. at one point the timpanists set their sticks aside and play bare-handed.American composer Philip Glass is widely known as one of the most celebrated, influential and prolific of the modern composers. He is frequently referred to as a minimalist, though he prefers to call himself a composer of ‘music with repetitive structures.’ His operas, among them the renowned Einstein On The Beach, are performed across the globe, and he has created work for small and large ensembles, film and experimental theatre, and founded his own performing group, The Philip Glass Ensemble.
Skill Level: Intermedio-Avanzado Explain this
Nº de páginas: 138
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: DU10801

      Philip Glass: Concerto Fantasy For Two Timpanists And Orchestra opiniones recogidas por reevooReevoo

      Calidad del contenido
      Relación calidad/precio
      Puntuación general
      Puntuaciones 10.0 de 10 basado en 1 opiniones
      10 sobre 10


      Vigo (Spain) GB teacher, composer, clarinettist, musicologist
      The score is printed on good quality paper, not too white. The solo timpani are clearly visible because they have a blank stave before and after. Repeats are always placed within a page to make page turning easy.
      No bad points.
      Compra confirmada de 06 Junio 2016
      Publicado en: 20 Junio 2016

      Vistos recientemente