Luigi Cherubini: Requiem Mass In C Minor (Vocal Score)

Libro | Acompañamiento de Piano

Editorial: Novello
Compositor: Luigi Cherubini
Formato: Partituras | Trabajo Vocal
The Requiem Mass in C Minor, Cherubini’s first, was commissioned for the anniversary of the execution of Louis XVI by the restored French monarchy. The Requiem was highly admired by the public and critics as well as by Mendelssohn, Berlioz and Beethoven. Cherubini sets a solemn tone right from the beginning by using the lower Strings and winds only to accompany the Voices and continues to display his inventiveness with great effectiveness throughout the work. The thunder and lightning of the Dies Irae, the prayerful pianissimo sections of the Agnus Dei accompanied by ostinato, the complete lack of soloists are all remarkable elements of this historically important work.Luigi Cherubini was a composer, conductor, teacher, administrator and music publisher who, though born in Italy, dominated the musical world of Paris for nearly five decades. His composing life can be divided very roughly into to phases: the operatic phase during the French Revolutionary period and the equally successful religious music phase at the beginning of the Restoration afterwards. His directorship of the Paris Conservatoire strengthened its position at the peak of musical education on the Continent.
Skill Level: Avanzado Explain this
Nº de páginas: 102
Idioma: Inglés, Latino
Nº de catálogo: NOV950631

          Vistos recientemente