Peter Maxwell Davies: Piccolo Concerto

Libro | Flautín, Acompañamiento de Piano

Editorial: Chester Music
Compositor: Peter Maxwell Davies
Formato: Partituras | Álbum Instrumental
Piccolo and Piano Reduction.
This work was commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. It was first performed on 23 April 1997, by Stewart McIlwham and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by the composer. The three movements should be played without a break.

The piccolo may have obvious limitations as a solo instrument, but Davies is not one to shirk a challenge. What he does is to play with the stereotypical modes of the instrument, so that the military “pipe and drum” effect is hinted at near the beginning of the third movement, while the jaunty manner is recalled at the close of the first, but as through a veil. A potentially comic partnership with the bass clarinet is also dignified when the two instruments engage in meditative dialogue in the second movement.

Duration c. 15 minutes.

Study Score on sale. Conductor's score and orchestral parts are available on hire.

ISBN: 9780711975422
Publicado el: 24 octubre 2001
Nº de páginas: 36
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: CH61499

        Vistos recientemente

        Peter Maxwell Davies: Piccolo Concerto
        Flautín, Acompañamiento de Piano
        20,25 €