B. Martinu: String Quartet With Orchestra H 207 / Sinfonia Concertante No.2 H 322 (Full Score, Hardback)

Libro | Orquesta

Editorial: Bärenreiter
Compositor: Bohuslav Martinů
Formato: Partituras | Partitura

“To tell the truth, I’m a concerto grosso type,” Martinu wrote in 1945. Unsurprisingly, the concerto grosso is also the formal basis of both concertante compositions for four solo instruments and orchestra included in the “Quadruple Concertos” volume. The works were written nearly twenty years apart and are quite different in style, having been inspired by various influences: Handel and Haydn, the Baroque period, and Classicism. The considerable time gap between the compositions is also evident in Martinu’s compositional technique, which transformed fundamentally throughout the decades.

The sixth Bohuslav Martinu Complete Edition volume includes an extensive preface (Eng/Czech) describing the genesis of the works, the circumstances of their first publication, and their historical reception in the context of the composer’s oeuvre, as well as a detailed critical report by the editors. The facsimile section provides high-quality reproductions of musical and non-musical sources, which document selected editorial issues, historical performance practice, and abandoned versions.

“Quadruple Concertos” is the last editorial accomplishment of brilliant Martinu expert and world-famous conductor Christopher Hogwood – a work that he collaborated on during his many years of research on Martinu.

In 2015 our publishing house launched the extensive Bohuslav Martinu Complete Edition (BMCE), which constitutes the first scholarly critical edition of the complete works of this classic of twentieth-century Czech music in all the versions and arrangements that he created or authorised, some newly discovered and previously unpublished compositions inclusive. The BMCE is edited by the Bohuslav Martinu Institute in Prague.

  • The Bohuslav Martinu Complete Edition III/2/4
  • First scholarly critical edition
  • Detailed preface (En/Cz) by Pavel Žurek and Marek Pechac
  • With a critical report (En/Cz) by the editors

ISBN: 9790260108721
Skill Level: Avanzado Explain this
Publicado el: 24 octubre 2018
Nº de páginas: 226
Nº de catálogo: BA1057701