Richard H. Walthew: A Mosaic In Ten Pieces (With Dedication)

Libro | Viola, Acompañamiento de Piano

Editorial: Boosey & Hawkes
Compositor: Richard H. Walthew
Formato: Partituras | Álbum Instrumental

The new edition of this charming suite by the British composer Richard Walthew was originally published in 1900. The work was frequently performed by Lionel Tertis over his long career; his fingerings and bowings are of great interest to students and scholars, so these are included for reference in the viola cue stave in the piano score; the viola part itself is left ‘clean’ for performers to make their own decisions.

In 1943 Tertis premiered A Mosaic in Ten Pieces in the version for Viola and Orchestra in a concert broadcast by the BBC. The performance was reviewed in the Musical Times: “It is the work of a happy craftsman, genial, jesting (so few composers joke now). In a slow movement Walthew is at his serene best. Brahms would have enjoyed the Valsette, and Elgar beamed upon other parts. Tertis’s phrasing is the best lesson I can imagine for any young musician …”.

ISBN: 9780851629582
Skill Level: Intermedio Explain this
Publicado el: 15 marzo 2017
Nº de páginas: 40
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: BH12802

        Vistos recientemente

        Richard H. Walthew: A Mosaic In Ten Pieces (With Dedication)
        Viola, Acompañamiento de Piano
        21,65 €