Ralph Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 8

Libro | Orquesta

Formato: Partituras | Partitura

Ralph Vaughan Williams' Symphony No. 8 for Orchestra. Full score.

Orchestration: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str.

Vaughan Williams wrote Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955 while in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony and considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams' love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments with a percussion section that, he said, employs "all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer".

For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions. The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

ISBN: 9780193413290
Publicado el: 23 febrero 2017
Nº de páginas: 120
Longitud: 28 minutes
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: 9780193413290

      Vistos recientemente