Nico Muhly: Diacritical Marks (Score/Parts)

Libro | Cuarteto de Cuerda

Editorial: St Rose
Compositor: Nico Muhly
Formato: Partituras | Partitura y Partes
"Diacritical Marks was written for the Chiara Quartet in 2011, and is in eight short movements. I have a huge anxiety about string quartets; they are normally meant to be giant expressions of a composer’s emotional life. Here, I focused on details: a tiny dot above a letter, a tiny swivel of the bow. The first and last movements are energetic and driving, and the middle movements are more lyrical, rhapsodic, and/or floating. The quartet is bound together by a piece of drone music, found in movements 3, 5, and 7, in which the second violin and the viola play an interlocking repeating pattern ad infinitum, while the cello and first violin spin very long, outrageous lines on top. The piece lasts just under 20 minutes."

—Nico Muhly
Publicado el: 20 julio 2013
Nº de páginas: 68
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: SRO100042

        Vistos recientemente

        Nico Muhly: Diacritical Marks (Score/Parts)
        Cuarteto de Cuerda
        24,30 €