Peter Maxwell Davies: Three Organ Voluntaries

Libro | Órgano

Editorial: Chester Music
Compositor: Peter Maxwell Davies
Formato: Partituras | Álbum Instrumental
These are all arrangements of sixteenth-century Scottish church music, beginning with Psalm 124 by David Peebles, which gains an athletic counterpoint of Davies's own. Then comes John Fethy's O God Abufe played straight, and finally an anonymous motet, All Sons of Adam, again infiltrated by a modern voice.
Nº de páginas: 8
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: CH55170

        Peter Maxwell Davies: Three Organ Voluntaries opiniones recogidas por reevooReevoo

        Calidad del contenido
        Relación calidad/precio
        Puntuación general
        Puntuaciones 7.0 de 10 basado en 1 opiniones
        7 sobre 10


        Southampton GB A church organist for
        If you are familiar with ' Farewell to Stromness' then these three preludes are totally different and explore a rather different musical style. great care needs to be exercised with the registration of these pieces to achieve asuitable performance.

        Psalm 124. The psalm tune is stated in full with unusually the pedal moving in thirds at one point. However, the right hand takes off with a bell like leaping figure which is quite tricky and harmonically bears little relationship to the key of the psalm tune. Certainly an acquired taste.

        O God Abufe. The psalm tune is stated clearly over an ostinato accompaniment which works quite well.

        All sons of Adam. Aonsiderable quantity of 'wrong note harmony' that' may not be to everyone's taste.

        These pieces take considerable time and effort to make then work successfully, not least organ registration.
        Forget Bach chorale preludes!!!!! These may not appeal to all organists due too their harmonic language and care of achieving suitable registration. They need a lot of thought.

        Also purchased two organ preludes based on plainsong tunes. Much of the above applies to these pieces but are perhaps more accessible.
        Compra confirmada de 03 Enero 2017
        Publicado en: 25 Enero 2017

        Vistos recientemente