Mary Lou Williams: Solo And Trio


Editorial: Storyville Records
Formato: Audio / Video | Ejecución Grabada
This Mary Lou Williams double-CD contains the complete session she did at Rick’s Café Americain, Chicago, November 14, 1979.

There are 27 tracks on the 2 CDs. 6 are her own compositions and the remaining are standards. Milton Suggs is her bassist and Drashear Khalid her drummer.
Mary Lou is one of the few famous female pianists in Jazz like Hazel Scott, Dorothy Donegan and Marian McPartland.

She is also a fantastic arranger. She did many arrangements as a member of Andy Kirk’s Mighty. She also made arrangements for the Duke Ellington Orchestra when she was traveling with the band as Harold “Shorty” Baker’s wife; Listening to Mary Lou Williams is always pleasurable for the fineness of her constructions, the richness of her ideas and, as her friend pianist Billy Taylor notes, “her ability to swing in any situation.”

CD 1

1. Spirituals 2 & 3
2. Fandangle
3. Old Fashioned Slow Blues
4. Night Life
5. Baby Bear Bogie/Roll ‘Em
6. Gloria
7. Autumn Leaves
8. I Can’t Get Started
9. They Can’t Take That Away From Me)
10. Satin Doll
11. The Jeep Is Jumping
12. A Grand Night For Swinging
13. Blues For Timme
14. St. James Infirmary

CD 2
1 Surrey With The Fringe On Top
2. The Man I Love
3. My Funny Valentine
4. Oh! Lady be Good
5. Mack The Knife
6. ‘Round Midnight
7. Caravan
8. A Grand Night For Swinging
9. Love For Sale
10. What’s Your Story Morning Glory
11. Without A Song
12. Over The rainbow
13. A Grand Night For swinging
Publicado el: 05 abril 2013
Idioma: Inglés
Nº de catálogo: STV1038420

    Vistos recientemente